A Brief History of the University

The University of Art is one of the accredited universities in Iran. Some parts of this university were established in 1979. Then in 1991 five different institutes of arts combined together and University of Art was founded. This is the largest comprehensive universality in Iran which is devoted to the art fields.

In 1979 after reorganizing five formerly independent institutions: The Conservatory of Music(1918), The Collage of National Music(1949), The Collage of Decorative Arts(1960), The Collage of Dramatic Arts(1964), And Farabi University(1975), it was formed as the Art Academic Complex, and in 1991, it was named as the University of Art.

University of Art is a major center for art education in Iran with an international reputation. This university has been pioneer in teaching so many of art majors in Iran and Middle East. University of Art has five faculties in Tehran and Karaj: Faculty of Applied Arts, Faculty of Visual Arts, Faculty of Cinema & Theater, Faculty of Music, Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning.

Currently there are 3950 full time students, 135 full time faculty members, and 330 part time professors in this university; with 21 majors in bachelor’s degree, 29 majors in master’s degree, and 5 major in PhD.


Address: # 56, Sakhai St., Hafez ave. Tehran 1136813518, Iran
Tel : ++9821 66733401-5
Fax : ++9821 66728000